Back in the arms of my Italian family

24 Sep

I just arrived last night in Rome back from a business trip in Russia.  You know the type: running from meeting to meeting, and dining alone each night.  I enjoyed Russia, but from the very nature of my trip, I could not say that I got an intimate feel of Russia or its people.

Back in Rome upon arrival, Alessandro met me and took me straight to the town of Fumicino, the little fishing port that has been co-opted by Rome’s International airport.  Although perhaps not a tourism destination in its own right, it is full of wonderful Italian seafood restaurants.

We walked into our usual place and it as packed.  Families, lovers, children, grandparents expressing cherished memories, lovers’ quarrels, babies’ cries – were all bouncing off the walls. There is a Neapolitan love song that translates as “some words are bitter and some words are sweet, but all are words of love.”  I couldn’t help but feel that in this room full of strangers sharing their emotions so openly – the good, the bad, the ugly – that I was part of this enormously boisterous family.

At the end of the night, the family next to us celebrating the birthday of their patriarch came over to our table to share slices of birthday cake, and the restauranteur brought out the chilled bottle of limoncello.  It’s great to be home.

 

2 Responses to “Back in the arms of my Italian family”

  1. Liz Radzick September 24, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    What a wonderful feeling it must have been! I love the energy of Italy and the warmth of the people wherever they are. People singing in the streets, hugging in restaurants…Maybe not so much in a long line-up (who are we kidding…Italians don’t line up: they cluster!) but pretty much everywhere else.

    • A Life in Rome... September 25, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

      What I love is the vibrancy of all emotions – nothing is held back – laughter, tears, complaints, indignation, affection….

Leave a Reply

