How to tell if you are shopping in the Italian black market

10 Sep

The tendency of Italians to engage in shady and questionable financial practices is well known. Just recently it was reported than less than 800 Italians report an income of over a million euros. And this in a country where the tax arm of the government is actually a military division!

So how do you know if you are inadvertently taking part in an undocumented financial exchange?

Here’s a clue. Last night I took a city taxi from Rome’s Termini station, and asked for a receipt. Happy to obligate, the driver earnestly wrote out a receipt and handed it to me; with:

“Night club: 1001 lap dances”

at the top.

I kinda wish I had not insisted on an official receipt. I would have loved to see the look on my accountant’s face when I submitted a receipt for lap dances.

One Response to “How to tell if you are shopping in the Italian black market”

  1. George August 2, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    Hello, I just returned from Rome and had the exact same experience. It is a shame for them, but next time I will be prepared.

    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

