A New Quartiere

9 May

We made a luxurious start to the week with a Monday AM visit to Dr. Anthony, a network spinal care practitioner in Rome.  I’ve been receiving network spinal care in Toronto for 2 months but this experience took it to a whole new level.  I feel like I have a new, lighter body.  It’s also gratifying to see his successful practice up and running here, as it encourages me to be confident in establishing my own reiki practice here in Rome.  If  readers know of a source for lightweight portable massage/reiki tables in Rome please let me know!

After floating out of Dr. Anthony’s office, Alessandro brought me to a market where local Romans shop for bargains, located along Via Sannio next to the San Giovanni metro station, at the start of the Via Appia Nuova. It would not have been out-of-place in the back alleys of Bangkok or Taipei, except for the gorgeous Italian-made leather jackets and shoes for amazing prices amongst all the knock-off t-shirts and purses. And looming over the market is the Basilica di San Giovanni, originally built in 314 AD by Rome’s first Christian emperor Constantine.  Vendors were starting to pack their wares around 1 PM – for lunch or for the day, I’m not sure, so best to get the shopping out-of-the-way in the morning.  Definitely a “keep your eye on your wallet” kind of vibe here. After all the exertion of shopping for a new leather wallet, we stopped into Caffe Sannio for a caffe. The barista asked if we would like the caffe served al vetro; “on the glass,” which Alessandro explained was a typically Roman method of serving coffee (espresso) in what is essentially a shot glass, and that it allegedly tastes better.  To me, glass vs. porcelain seemed like a minute difference — but it was indeed incredibly smooth coffee!

On the way home (on the back of a scooter, Roman-style), Alessandro brought me to a neighborhood I had never heard of, but I would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to explore off Rome’s beaten track and experience something beyond the tourist guides!  The area, called Quartiere Coppedé, is located in the posh Roman district of Trieste.  It is full of an unusual mix of architectural styles and breath-taking villas in a shady, luxurious neighbourhood.  My pictures aren’t great because I was shooting from the back of a speeding scooter; but I will definitely return on a little walking tour in the near future. The district would be within walking distance from the Borghese Museum.  And judging from Google Maps,  there are a lot of places to stay in the area.  So many friends and family have been asking for accommodation recommendations, I am going to investigate accommodation options this area as it’s gorgeous, out of the regular tourist crush and within reasonable distance of the centro.

6 Responses to “A New Quartiere”

  1. Liz May 9, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    The outdoor markets do tend to close by 1pm in Italy I find – the same is true at least in Firenze. I miss the markets at this time of year: blood oranges from Sicily and tiny fragolini in baskets. Yum!!!! I took Curly to St. Lawrence Market on Saturday and we bought fiddleheads, fingerling potatoes and amazing cured ham for dinner. It’s not Italy but it’s as close as I can get right now 🙂 Looking forward to more posts bella!

    • A Life in Rome... May 9, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

      Thanks Liz! mmmm…fiddleheads in Ontario spring are wonderful. Not too shabby either!

  2. Caroline C May 9, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    Im happy that your nursed back to health.. and got to experience the best java … Im at home drinking a latte I made using my espresso machine… and the coffee bean is Italian…. thinking of you!! xo Love you CC Ps. My prayers are with you on this journey!!

    • A Life in Rome... May 10, 2011 at 9:45 am #

      Ciao Caroline! The best thing about the coffee in Italy is not even the taste (which is amazing), it’s watching Italians drink it! I will write about this in the future… Love you too…

  3. Kara May 10, 2011 at 3:38 am #

    I’m envisioning you with styling black sunglasses and a Pucci scarf wrapped around your head to keep your hair from blowing on the back of a Vespa! Miss you!

    • A Life in Rome... May 10, 2011 at 9:46 am #

      You know what? It’s totally just like that! 🙂 Miss you too Kara…

Leave a Reply

